I made it to the gym last night to meet my friend for some strength training. Having a friend to workout with helps get me to the gym a lot more often, but the problem is also finding the time to do some cardio. On top of that, sometimes when we workout it is no joke and I’m way too tired after to get on the treadmill. But last night I was there about 20 minutes early, so I tried to get in a quick run slow jog before she got there. I tried to go a little faster since I wasn’t going to run very long, but my cardio is just not there yet. About halfway into it, I thought I was going to die and I had to walk for a bit. Why is starting back running so freaking hard? And when will it get easier?
The gym is always entertaining to me as I love to people watch. There the old man in the gym that’s there every day with a bad toupee. I never actually see him working out either – just walking around talking to people. There’s the anorexic girl that’s always in pants and long sleeves and is kinda bitchy. Just eat something already and maybe you will actually learn to smile!! Then there’s the guy that is working out in regular clothes. I will never get how anyone can workout in a pair of jeans. Just seems super hot and uncomfortable to me.
I love the gym for other reasons too. Throughout the years, I have made tons of friends by just seeing the same people every day and starting up a conversation. And not just friends you casually talk to in the gym, but friends I hang out with outside the gym too. I also have killer spin workouts from superfit instructors that I think must be on crack. But I’ve gotten so used to it that if I get a lame instructor and I don’t feel like I’m about to die at the end of class, I feel like I was somehow cheated.
You are probably wondering how for someone that loves the gym so much let herself go so badly. Well, the problem is that I am inherently lazy. Getting myself to the gym is the big problem when the couch and TV are calling my name. As much as I enjoy the feeling I get after a good workout, I always dread the pain that I’m going to go through. Once I get myself into a good routine, I’m usually ok. But alas, Iife inevitably gets in the way and once my routine is derailed I always struggle to get back on track. But this time I’m going to find a way to stay on track.
Does anyone else love going to the gym as much as I do?

No comments:
Post a Comment